57 state officials join Concordia in Civility Pledge

May 9, 2013 by

When the Concordia Year of Peace Committee earlier this year began its fourth annual drive to gather signatures on the Civility Pledge, members looked to Topeka as well.

For the first time, we asked state senators and representatives as well as members of the governor’s cabinet to join us in making a public commitment to civility in “public discourse and behavior.”

This year’s pledge is will be published in the Concordia Blade-Empire, which has generously donated the space for it each year. It is also available as a downloadable PDF; just CLICK HERE.

People signing the pledge promise to be “civil in my public discourse and behavior” and “respectful of others whether or not I agree with them” and to “stand against incivility when I see it.”

Nearly 200 Concordians signed the pledge this year, along with 57 senators and representatives, including Sen. Elaine Bowers and Rep. Susan Concannon. Members of the Concordia Rotary Club hand-delivered a letter explaining the pledge and a postage-paid signature card to 165 state officials.

For every signed card received, the committee sent a letter to the editor of that official’s hometown newspaper to publicly thank him or her for signing the pledge.

The Year of Peace Committee introduced the Civility Pledge in 2010, explained Sister Jean Rosemarynoski, who chairs the committee.

“Civility means being respectful despite our differences of opinion,” she said. “We want to get the message out, and then encourage everyone to live that message: That all people must be treated with dignity and respect.”

The Year of Peace Committee came together in late 2009 as a result of an “interest group” at the Community Needs Forum working lunches hosted by the Sisters of St. Joseph.  Anyone who wants more information about the continuing Concordia Year of Peace or would like to be part of the committee may contact Sister Jean at 785/243-2149 or by email at sisterjean@csjkansas.org.



Feel free to leave a comment...